Optimism Goes a Long Way

A follow-up to Breaking My Silence.

It’s been a month since I wrote Breaking My Silence. I am pleased to say that since then I’ve been doing much, much better. For the first time in a month I was finally able to check my text messages on my phone and go back on Tumblr after being so anxious that people would be upset or angry with me, because of things that again I cannot mention on this blog. It felt so good knowing that there were people that still had my back despite how I acted out, people that still care. So I was finally able to answer back after I’ve been getting help with earning back my confidence and overcoming my fears.

This isn’t to say that my social anxiety and depression are going to go away for good – these are afflictions that stay with people forever. But I’ve been taking slow, gradual steps toward not letting what I have affect me so I can be an overall better person. Like I’ve said before, I don’t regret moving back home. I felt like I did the right thing. And it appears I was right.

I’m actually going back to Universal this weekend with my family. This will be the first time I’ve been to the parks since resigning from my job at The Simpsons Ride. I’m feeling a bit hesitant but I’m also really excited like I always am whenever I go to Universal. I’ve consistently reminded myself that Universal has brought me to new heights I’ve only dreamed of reaching several years ago. I had my first job with Universal, I made many lifelong friends because of Universal. And I hope despite the now long-distance these friendships can continue.

Fingers crossed. 😉

Leave a Reply

