My Favorite Cruelty-Free Cosmetics

Recently, I have made the decision to purchase all cruelty-free products (this includes not just makeup, but also hair and skin products). Animal testing is unfortunately still a standard practice used by very well-known brands, including Maybelline, Suave, and Benefit, to name a few of the brands I have decided to stop using. While it will take a bit of patience and time to completely replace whatever non cruelty-free products I have, here’s a few of my cruelty-free favorites that I already own.

*NYX’s Stay Matte But Not Flat Liquid Foundation (I use shade Porcelain)

staymattebutnotflatliquidfoundation_main

This foundation has excellent coverage and works wonderfully in tandem with the Stay Matte But Not Flat Powder Foundation (I use shade Light Beige).

*NYX is owned by L’Oreal Paris, a company that tests on animals. The NYX brand itself is cruelty-free.

Kat Von D’s Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette

maxresdefault

I recently got this palette and I am absolutely in love! All the shadows have great pigment, especially the black in the Cool Quad. You can create so many different looks just with these colors alone, whether you want a neutral look or a more smokey look.

Too Faced’s Chocolate Bon Bons Palette

web_chocolatebonbons_open

My first ever Too Faced palette! I’ve had this palette for a year and it still has that amazing chocolate aroma, believe it or not! While I’m not fond of the pink shades (with the exception of Totally Fetch), I love all the different brown shades, both matte and shimmery. Sadly, I’ve hit the bottom of Divinity’s pan. I always, always use that shade for my base.

I also used to have Too Faced’s Chocolate Bar palette, but unfortunately I think someone stole it when I lived in Orlando. 😦

Kat Von D’s Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita

31or9fjuypl-_sy355_

Lolita is considered to be one of the most popular shades of Kat Von D’s Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks, and for a good reason. Not only is Lolita a beautiful nude shade, but you can literally use it for any kind of look. I used to wear this shade all the time back when I worked at Universal, and you’d be surprised how many compliments I got from both guests and coworkers!

I also own the shade Nosferatu from this collection. While it’s a bit harder to work with since it’s a darker shade, the color is a vibrant, beautiful red and was personally recommended to me by a Sephora employee.

NYX’s Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in Alien

800897840211_liquidsuedecreamlipstick_stonefox_main

Whenever I’m looking for dark lip shades, I usually go with cream lipsticks over liquid since I’ve had a bit of difficulty working with some of the darker liquid lipsticks I have. Alien’s applicator makes it easy to apply, especially when used with the matching lip-liner in the same collection.

Honorable mentions: Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade in shade Chocolate, BH Cosmetics 120 color palette 2nd edition, Ecotools brushes, NYX’s Matte Liquid Liner, NYX’s Doll Eye Mascara, Too Faced’s Melted Matte Liquid Lipstick in shade Drop Dead Red.

 

Leave a Reply

